News & Events

Marta Duchi wins poster prize

Congratulations to Marta, who won a poster prize at the Celebration of Bristol Chemistry V, held on 3rd July 2018.  Her poster, entitled “Charge transfer dynamics and vibrational wavepackets explored with ultrafast techniques” described recent work she has carried out in Tom Oliver’s ultrafast laser laboratory.  The event brought together postgraduate students and postdocs from across the School of Chemistry to present their wide-ranging research achievements.

Welcome to Dr Patrick Robertson

Welcome to Dr Patrick Robertson, who has joined the group as a postdoctoral research fellow working on velocity map imaging of chemical dynamics.  Patrick joins us from La Trobe University in Melbourne, where he obtained his PhD with Dr Evan Robertson studying the the effects of hydrogen bonding in organic molecules and their clusters using laser spectroscopy techniques.

Welcome to Dr Chu Fenghong

We are delighted to welcome Dr Chu Fenghong as a China Scholarship Council Visiting Scholar.  Chu is visiting from the Shanghai University of Electric Power, and will be working on the study of optical properties of single, trapped aerosol particles using cavity ring-down spectroscopy.

Welcome to two new group members

Welcome to Dr Mahima Sneha and to Luke Lewis-Borrell who have joined the group.  Mahima is a Marie-Sklodowska Curie Research Fellow, and obtained her PhD working with Prof Richard Zare at Stanford University.  Luke is a member of the Bristol Chemical Synthesis Centre for Doctoral Training and will study for his PhD under the guidance of Andrew Orr-Ewing and Bristol colleague Varinder Aggarwal.

Successful mission to Dalian

Mike Ashfold and Chris Hansen have just completed a successful 3 week visit to the new Dalian Coherent Light Source, where they had the honour of being the first international visitors to use this unique vacuum ultraviolet free electron laser. The images show Chris, Mike and Dalian Institute of Chemical Physics scientists Kaijun Yuan, Zhichao Chen and Chang Yao.

Victoria Wins Three Minute Thesis People’s Choice Prize!

Congratulations to Victoria Taylor who won the three minute thesis people’s choice prize with her presentation “Ultrafast lasers – Shining a light on the future of renewable energy.” The three minute thesis final was held on 9th May 2018 as part of the University of Bristol’s Research without Borders event.

Photoredox catalysis paper published in JACS

Research by Daisuke Koyama and Harvey Dale has been published in the Journal of the American Chemical Society.  The paper is entitled  ‘Ultrafast Observation of a Photoredox Reaction Mechanism: Photo-Initiation in Organocatalyzed Atom-Transfer Radial Polymerization’, and describes how ultrafast absorption spectroscopy can be used to observe the short-lived reaction intermediates involved in chemical reactions initiated by electron transfer from a photoactive organic catalyst. Harvey contributed significantly to this research while he was a final year undergraduate project student in the Bristol Laser Chemistry group.  The paper citation is D. Koyama, H.J.A. Dale and A.J. Orr-Ewing, J. Am. Chem. Soc. 140, 1285-1293 (2018).  DOI: 10.1021/jacs.7b07829.

Poster Prize for Giordano Amoruso at SDG 2018

Congratulations to Giordano Amoruso who won best poster prize at the Royal Society of Chemistry’s Spectroscopy and Dynamics Group 2018 Meeting at Durham (8-10 January, 2018).

Congratulations to Dr Magda Ulmeanu

Best wishes to Magda, who will start as an R&D Engineer with Folium Optics Ltd in Thornbury in January 2018.

Welcome to Dr Ankur Saha

We are pleased to welcome Dr Ankur Saha who is visiting for a couple of months to gain experience with velocity map imaging methods.  Ankur is based at the BARC in Mumbai where he is establishing a new laboratory for VMI experiments.

Welcome to Giordano Amoruso

Welcome to new PhD student Giordano Amoruso who has recently joined Dr Tom Oliver’s research group. Giordano recently completed his Master’s degree at the University of Padua. At Padua, Giordano worked in the laboratory of Dr Elisabetta Collini using 2D electronic spectroscopy to investigate the ultrafast dynamics of quantum dots.

Emerging Techniques in Chemical Dynamics symposium held at Bristol

Profs Daniel Rolles (Kansas State University) and Arthur Suits (University of Missouri) were keynote speakers at the ‘Emerging Techniques in Chemical Dynamics’ mini-symposium held in Bristol on 22 September. Bristol and Oxford group members Aditi Bhattacherjee, Michael Burt and Chris Hansen each gave excellent supporting presentations.  The picture shows Daniel (left) and Arthur (right) in front of Mitch Quinn’s poster on crossed molecular beam scattering.

Four new members of the group

We are delighted to welcome new postdoctoral research associate Dr Graham Cooper, and new postgraduates students Lingfeng Ge, Tony Kao and Ryan Phelps to the group.  They will join current and developing projects on chemical dynamics in the gas phase and in solution.

Mike Ashfold elected to Membership of Academia Europaea

Academia Europaea was founded in 1988, on the initiative of the Royal Society and other National Academies in Europe.  Academia Europaea is the only Europe-wide Academy with individual membership from Council of Europe states and other nations across the world.

Rebecca Ingle completes her PhD

Congratulations to Rebecca Ingle for success in her PhD viva. Rebecca’s thesis described studies of several different photoinduced reactions both in the gas phase and in solution. Rebecca will begin postdoctoral research in the group of Prof Majed Chergui at the École polytechnique fédérale de Lausanne (EPFL) in October.

SUSDG Conference in Bristol

The 2017 meeting of the Southern Universities Spectroscopy and Dynamics Group (SUSDG) was held at the University of Bristol across September 7-8. The early career researcher-focused conference ran successfully and was organised and chaired by laser group members Chris Hansen and Mitch Quinn.

Daisuke Koyama completes his PhD

Congratulations to Daisuke Koyama for success with his PhD viva.  Daisuke’s thesis described his studies of ultrafast photochemical dynamics of sulfur-containing organic molecules and radicals in solution using transient electronic and vibrational absorption spectroscopy.  Daisuke and his family will return to Japan in September.

Welcome to Aditi Bhattacherjee

We are delighted to welcome Dr Aditi Bhattacherjee to Bristol.  Aditi has joined Tom Oliver’s group after completing her PhD at the Tata Institute of Fundamental Research (Mumbai) and postdoctoral research with Prof Steve Leone at UC Berkeley.  She will be working with Tom on ultrafast laser spectroscopy studies of energy transport.

FRS for Andrew Orr-Ewing

Andrew Orr-Ewing has been elected a Fellow of the Royal Society (FRS). The Royal Society is the world’s oldest scientific academy in continuous existence and fellows are drawn from all areas of science. Andrew joins Mike Ashfold and Richard Dixon as members of the Bristol group in who have received this prestigious honour.

Liu Hao receives his PhD at the University of Bristol graduation in Beijing

Congratulations to Dr Liu Hao who was awarded his PhD in absentia in July 2016, but was able to graduate in person at the University of Bristol graduation ceremony in Beijing held in April 2017.  The photo below shows Liu Hao in his PhD gown.